An Unexpected Visitor

I was in the kitchen this morning, preparing to make some milk tarts. I happened to glance out the window and this is what I saw:

Do you see it?

So I grabbed the camera, turned the stove off and rushed outside.

How about now?

I think this little guys is a Leopard Tortoise (Stigmochelys pardalis)*.ย Leopard Tortoises are apparently one of the larger tortoises in the world, though this little one has a lot of growing to do!

Peek-a-boo

He wasn’t too concerned with me and so long as I lay quietly on my tummy, finger poised on the shutter button, he would blink and watch me. His/her little head popping out.

Yikes!

S/he wasn’t too impressed with the attention from Pepper however.

Is she gone?

Fortunately Pepper wasn’t all that interested in her/him.

Ready for my close-up!

I think s/he was looking for somewhere to hibernate and was very determined to get there!

I'm outta here!

Unfortunately the aren’t any nice protected spots around our house for this little one so I picked it up and moved it towards out big thick honeysuckle hedge.

Palm Sized Chelonian

He seemed quite relived to see the bush and quickly blended in!

Freedom!

Have you had any (cute) unexpected visitors recently?

*There is some debate about this. John thinks it is an Angulate Tortoise. I’m not so sure…

4 thoughts on “An Unexpected Visitor

Leave a Reply

